I am new to board.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Nikki, Oct 17, 2002.

1. Nikki

Nikki Member

First of all, thanks to everyone who posts on this board. I've learned a great deal about FM. Maybe this is what I have . . . my Ortho thinks it's a possibility.

Does this sound familiar to anyone?!?

About 2.5 yrs ago my legs began aching @ nite. I could find relief by lying on my back & plac'g a pillow under my knees. Then in Apr I began having a mild case of shin splints . . . full-blown by June. Ortho said I had shin splints & tendonitis in my legs. Went to PT. They did ASTM (augmented soft tissue massage) . . . sounds good, huh? No way . . . they use acrylic instruments to scrape up and down your legs to break up scar tissue. Then new scar tissue is suppose to form which you in turn stretch w/exercise. My legs were black & blue from knees to ankles. At 1st it seemed to work & maybe it has done a little to help my situation. Was also given anti-inflammatory meds which did not help one iota. Then about a mo. ago I began having severe pain in both arms, shoulders, my knees, my hips and upper back. ASTM was stopped. I was put on Robaxin . . . no help at all. Then Flexeril which may be helping some (am suppose to take 3x day but only take 1x day @ bedtime . . it makes me a little spacey). Still have pain but not as severe. PT was restarted for shoulder,arm & hip pain. I have appt with Rhuematologist @ end of this mo.

A little background: I'm 57, and like all of you, I've been very active all my life. Worked until 4 yrs ago, then quit to take care of parents. In 3/2000, I lost my Dad suddenly (the same day my mother-in-law had leg amputed).