I am new to the borads...and in desperate need of a dr in seattle area

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by amyjoy2002, Nov 26, 2002.

1. amyjoy2002

amyjoy2002 New Member

I have recently moved to Seattle after living in Hawaii for seven years. I was diagnosed with FM while living in Hawaii. Shortly after being diagnosed, I got pregnant. The doctor took me off of most of my meds. Well now I am in the Seattle area frantically in search of a doctor that knows what is going on b/c of the flare up. I was referred to a dr here by a friend. I went to see this dr a few weeks ago and he told me that he would not prescribe me anything for my muscle spasms, chronic pain, restless leg or the severe headaches I have. He told me that he would pray for me and put me through the drill (MRI, PT, X-Rays, and massage thereapy). Well, I went back yesterday and he told me that all of my results are within normal range.....yeah (LIKE I DIDN"T KNOW THIS ALREADY).

Yesterday was a good day...but today is horrible!!!! I could barely get out of bed this morning with my 7 month old. I hate living with such pain at the age of 26. Better yet, I hate doctors that tell me nothing is wrong. Sure test results may not indicate that anything is wrong, but why will they not listen to their patients?? I am eating about 20 advil a day to make it around the house and this dr is too paranoid to give me anything to help me cope better. The lining of my stomach should be eaten up any day now.

Can any of you guys recommend a doctor that has empathy and a true understanding of this condition??? I am so sorry that I am venting, but I found this board JUST IN TIME.....

Thanks so much......amy

btw....what meds are most of you on and what are the side effects? Do they help??
    [This Message was Edited on 11/26/2002]
  2. amyjoy2002

amyjoy2002 New Member