I am new to this and the pain

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by ljcishoping, Jul 23, 2003.

1. ljcishoping

ljcishoping New Member

hi i am 38 female and not sure whats going on! docs. are a pain! have degen.disk disease, arthrits in hips. I am on ulatracet and it works very well,taking paxil for depression.muscles ache to the bones and hurt to touch but all my docs.are telling me is i have arthrits, hip exrays showed hips looked good so how can they tell me its arthrits? and i am so tired all the time...telling me depression is causing tired, but this is a kind of tiredness i have never had in my life even when depressed before. Can someone please help me. I am tired of going to docs, why cant they tell what it is and fix it.

Thank You and keep the faith
  2. AnnG

AnnG New Member

the very best of message boards. It certainly sounds like fibromyalgia. You can fight to get a diagnosis (which is sometimes very helpful) and/or you can read and try the many different hints on this board for making life more tolerable. Read all you can about FM and see if it sounds like your life. You will be more educated when you next go to the Dr and can demand more help. We have all lived the pain and loneliness you feel. Welcome. Ask any questions you have and you will get varied answers from these very wonderful and knowledgable people. You are among friends!
  3. dolsgirl

dolsgirl New Member

4. youmansm

youmansm New Member

Hi,

Hip pain is really common in fibromyalgia, particularly spasms in the muscle that connects the hip to the knee (ITB). I had ITB pain and spasms in my knees for several years--now it seems I'm getting them in the hips. I would not necessarily believe the diagnosis of arthritis without more opinions. The fatigue and soreness to touch sounds like fibro. too. Some fibro. patients have depression--there seems to be some correlation, but mostly it's just that patients are depressed because they hurt all the time!