I can't do this anymore...someone please help.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by brella, Aug 25, 2009.

1. brella

brella New Member

I used to post on this message board several years ago and then I stopped for some time. I had a brief period where my fibromyalgia wasn't AS bad but its back to being bad...worse than ever and I simply do not know what to do. I cannot handle it anymore....

I'm 23 years old and I've had fibromyalgia probably since I was 17 or 18. I got hit by a car while riding a bike when I was 16 years old and it started with severe lower back pain. That lower back pain has continued this entire time but then other symptoms started. The biggest problem of course is the widespread pain everywhere. I literally have pain in every muscle and joint in my body.

I graduated in May 2008 with a B.S. degree in Biology. I realized after I graduated that I wanted to become a nurse. On my path to become a nurse, I started working as a nursing assistant 3 months ago. The stress of standing and walking around for 8 hours has caused me to have a continual flare-up. After working 5 days a week, my days off have to be spent doing nothing. I can't exercise without having increased pain. I can't go shopping or walk around more than 2 hours without increased pain. My job right now is the main problem. I don't have to do too much bending or lifting but just the mere walking and standing all shift is way too much for my body to handle. I asked my boss if I could go down to 4 days a week and she will start me on that next week. However, today I had to call in sick to work because I'm in so much pain I couldn't have imagined working for 8 hours. I've also been sick with a cold or the flu very often lately which makes my pain so much worse. Working as a nurse now? ha ha ha...if I can't even stand for 8 hours, being a nurse where I work 12 hour shifts would never be a possibility.