I give up.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by daylight, Aug 19, 2006.

1. daylight

daylight New Member

My doctor has successfully convinced my husband and father that I am clinically depressed. Even though I have told them several times that I'm not. For years now I have tried to please the doctors by taking antidepressants that don't help the pain or stop me from getting sick so often. Now I've told the experts (my family and doctor) no more! So now I'm am in denial of my supposed depression? My father even went to the extreme of bringing up my ex-husband . He said that some people have been SO depressed for so long that they just don't realizes it. I had to then remind my father that I used to work in the mental health field. Of course he says that I'm still in denial. Then I said "what about the counselors that I talked to before and after my divorce?" Oh by the way I've been divorce since 1995. Of course all my father could say was that I haven't tried ALL the drugs out on the market and my angrier is a sure sign of extreme depression. Now my husband won't speak to me because of this. To make things even worse my SSI check just came in the mail with that letter for my doctor to fill out . If I don't accept the depression dx. I'm screwed.
    It doesn't seem to matter that my doctor even believe this could be a neurological problem because the neurologist won't see me . The neuro. read in my chart that I have an anxiety problem and said that I need to see a shrink not him. I don't know what to do. I wish that I could have worked with this sickness. I didn't asked to be fired . And I was anxious and depressed six months ago. But that was then. Now I have this in my chart. I don't know what to do next. I can afford to see another shrink at 150.00 a session a minimum of seven visit paid up front at the first visit.