I have never asked for a certain medication

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by amaryllis, Jan 22, 2003.

1. amaryllis

amaryllis New Member

by name before from my doctor. How do I do this? Because of my foggy head, I could not exactly remember when my next appointment was. I thought it was a week ago and I felt like a complete idiot calling and telling them I forgot. They usually call the day before to confirm and I was not getting any calls, but I felt this inner dread that they changed their policy, I missed it and would end up with nothing but a bill. I broke down and called, found out it is next week.

I feel like a big fool. The doctor sees me and asks how I am feeling and I always tell him how I am feeling right then and there. I always fail to mention things that I had dealt with over the last few months. Coming here I have learned that it is so important to write it all out in either a list or journal format. I am not good at doing this because I am too wordy (as if you had not noticed!) and I can not imagine that he is going to want to waste his time to read it all. I also feel as though there are areas that he will not treat or be able to treat and rightfully so, (ex. I have endometriosis and he is a neuro doc) and those problems will just fall by the wayside. Bottom line is I am afraid to tell him absolutely everything because I cannot stand the thought of anyone else thinking that I am a hypochondriac and it is all in my head. So far he has been wonderful and constructs his own lists of symptoms he has seen me for in the past which led him to confirming the fibromyalgia diagnosis. The last time I was at his office I was told by the physical therapist that the doctor had noted the MPS and Peripheral Neuropathy to my chart. I have had over the last two months terrible nerve pain in my neck, shoulders and down my right arm, in my lumbar spine and radiating down into both hips and my right leg to the knee. This is nothing new and I have bee