I need help but I don't know how to get it

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by dancer218, Nov 22, 2008.

1. dancer218

dancer218 New Member

3 years back I went through a pretty bad depressive episode, but I pulled myself out of it eventually without the help of therapy or meds. I thought that was the last of it, but a few months ago it came back. I find myself completely disinterested in nearly everything, irritable, and crying every day. I'm at the point where I know I need help, I don't want to deal with this on my own anymore.

I just don't know where to go. I graduated from college about 6 months ago, so up until then I went to the student health center whenever I had any medical problems. Since graduating I haven't gotten a doctor, so I don't have anyone I know and feel comfortable going to. I also have problems with anxiety, and the mere prospect of finding a doctor scares me. Things like making phone calls to schedule appointments causes me a lot of anxiety. On top of that, I don't even really know what type of doctor I should be looking for. Should I start by going to a general practitioner or should I go to a therapist or even a psychiatrist? I am terribly inept when it comes to easy things like scheduling an appointment with a doctor, so I would really appreciate it if someone could walk me through what I should do.
  2. TwoCatDoctors

TwoCatDoctors New Member