I need help understanding... ANYONE?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Peacelearning, Mar 22, 2006.

1. Peacelearning

Peacelearning New Member

Had a "flare" and again, as I mentioned, my docs believe FMS and CFS is secondary to "something that is knocking at my door". I have had all the tests two years ago...

R/t this "flare", I had labs. There were some notable markers that I understand, but others I am confused about. I am a nurse (I know a little) and I have done research, but what I see does not make sence to me. Can a pro help me?

My WBC is slightly high. So, I would think I am fighting something. Then the breakdown within the WBC...

Monocytes are low, neutrophils are high. How can this be? Logic would tell me that if I am fighting an infection, then both Monocytes and neutrophils would be high in keeping with higher WBC. Does this sound like primary FMS and CFS "flare"?

I have done all the reseach I can... I have found very little about why monocytes would be low. And for that matter why neutrophils high. (I have had infections before and ususally these are WNL even if my WBC is high.) Please, I need a pro to help me understand. Anyone?
  2. skierchik

skierchik New Member

I wish I could tell you what's going on, but I can't. It looks like your body is trying to fight something. Do you take any natural antiviral supplements or herbs???

My blood was drawn on Mar. 9th and I also have funky WBC, neutrophils, monocytes, eosinophils, basophils. I also have CFS/FM, juv. diabetes, & hashimoto's, so I guess I shouldn't expect great labs. Keep in mind those numbers can change from day to day.

My doc is really, really good, so I trust him. He said that I'm showing signs that the detox plan(pesticides and mercury) is working and not to be too concerned. We'll go over the labs at our next appt. in greater detail. Do you have a good doc you can talk with??