I posted this ? last week but my post didn't show up..

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by jtbear, Apr 9, 2007.

1. jtbear

jtbear New Member

I have been having recurring swelling at the back of my neck between my shoulder blades lately. It is in the are where you sometimes get what they call a "buffalo hump" (nice term, huh). Anyway, it just happens at random, is very painful, and becomes very red. I use heat and/or ice to try to calm it down, which helps somewhat. I have had FM for years and also lupus; have not taken any new meds lately, just the regular array of pills, including neurontin at night (900 mg).
    My question: does anyone else have this happen and if so, have you gotten any answers? I was a nurse for 25+ years (before having to quit work alltogether) and have done a little research online, which I read about Cushing's Disease.
    Can anyone share if they have had this problem and what may have worked for them.
    Thanks for any response.
    jtbear
  2. maryl

maryl New Member

I have something similar with my fibro. I use a compound (Rx) called ketoprofen cream. It makes it more tolerable. I am also a disabled nurse but do not have the lupus, so I am concerned about what your dr. would want you to do. Also, warm gentle showers may be better than the heating pad tho because I've heard the dry heat tends to be harder on the muscles. Hope you're feeling better. Mary
  3. jtbear

jtbear New Member

Thank you for your response. I do take longer showers because it does temporarily feel so good. I will look into the cream. With the Lupus dx, I am not sure what tests will be ordered, but I plan to ask for blood tests to start which would give me some perspective on whether or not it is just fibro related. Then, go from there, if need be. I just hate being tested and tested and tested again. I also use the "bed buddies" that I made, which can be a more moist heat than a heating pad.
    Again, thank you for your reply.