I used my Ticket to Work, now I wish I hadn't

Discussion in 'Spirituality/Worship' started by Yesh, Aug 9, 2004.

1. Yesh

Yesh New Member

I worked as a nurse in long-term-care until I got this disease. I was approved for Social Security on my first try. My ex-husband waited on me hand and foot, and I got board-to-death.

I decided I would go back to school just for the fun it, something to keep my mind occupied with besides the T.V. I got my AAS degree and everything was fine. Then I got my Ticket to Work, I could go back to school and get another degree if I gave Vocational Rehab my ticket; stupid me, I did it.

I graduated in June with two business technology degress as a legal assistant and a administrative assistant. Now I have three college degrees and my nursing certificate. Vocational Rehab wants to know why I have not found a job yet, I am told Social Security can just cut my benifits because I have not found a job.

People do not understand, I AM STILL DISABLED! On top of that I am caring for a disabled adult child by my self while trying to keep my house and yard up. When I have the time, I do read the want ads and search the Internet for jobs, and fill out on line applications and send out resumes. However, I cannot make someone hire me.

Eventhough I send out 5+ applications and resumes each week, I am told I am not doing enough, I need to make looking for work my first priority, and make it a full time job.

Talk about being between a rock and a hard place. If I make looking for work my first priority I neglect my son, and if I do not make looking for work my first priority, I lose my Social Security.

I am being pulled and pushed in so many directions I feel I am ready for a mental breakdown, also, I am starting to feel a relapse starting. I never thought I would say this, but may be a relapse would be a good thing because I would be in tooooooo much pain to work.