I value your opinions

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by susabar, Nov 17, 2002.

1. susabar

susabar New Member

I am new to everything here... FM/ the boards etc...

the doctors are telling me ( mostly Chiro at this point, but Family Physician too ) That my illness has been brought about by TOO MUCH STRESS and repetitive work injury. I have been at the same job ( hospital Lab ) for 12 years, although the last 4 years we have been severely short staffed. The last time someone left it took 8 months to replace them. ( HR drags their feet ) I am thinking about suing my employer.
    What do you think???
  2. susabar

susabar New Member

I am new to everything here... FM/ the boards etc...

the doctors are telling me ( mostly Chiro at this point, but Family Physician too ) That my illness has been brought about by TOO MUCH STRESS and repetitive work injury. I have been at the same job ( hospital Lab ) for 12 years, although the last 4 years we have been severely short staffed. The last time someone left it took 8 months to replace them. ( HR drags their feet ) I am thinking about suing my employer.
    What do you think???
  3. Duffsangel

Duffsangel New Member

Welcome to the board! I think it would be difficult to sue them...unless your Doctor's can prove this is what caused your FM. You could have had FM and then the work conditions made it worse. Be prepared to lose your job if you sue.
    Good luck
    Duffsangel
  4. Mikie

Mikie Moderator

You can file a Work Comp case stating that the stress, repetitive tasks, and understaffing are adversely affecting your health. If the hospital has an Employee Assistance Program, ask to see a therapist and document what is going on. Then, if you are dismissed, think about suing for unlawful dismissal, but check with an atty. first. Most work on a contingency basis and will not accept a case if they do not expect to win.

Love, Mikie
  5. JP

JP New Member

Welcome Susabar,