Ibuprofen

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by canarysue, Sep 26, 2002.

1. canarysue

canarysue New Member

Hi! I'm kind of new to the message board, but I need to ask a question. I have fibro and have had it since I was four (a long, long time), and my doctor thinks that 800 mgs of ibuprofen a day will help my muscles to not be so painful. Is anyone else on this medicine, and do you find it effective? May I also take Darvocet and Flexeril with it if I am in a flare? Noone understands how I feel but a fellow fibro sufferer!

Carrie
  2. canarysue

canarysue New Member

Hi! I'm kind of new to the message board, but I need to ask a question. I have fibro and have had it since I was four (a long, long time), and my doctor thinks that 800 mgs of ibuprofen a day will help my muscles to not be so painful. Is anyone else on this medicine, and do you find it effective? May I also take Darvocet and Flexeril with it if I am in a flare? Noone understands how I feel but a fellow fibro sufferer!

Carrie
  3. ArkyFarmGirl

ArkyFarmGirl New Member

I have a perscription for Vioxx which I find quite helpful in controling pain and muscle tension. Unfortunately, it is so expensive that I can't afford to take it every day (like it should be taken). Last week I asked my doctor about substituting ibruprofen for the Vioxx. He said that taking ibruprofen daily in high doses would be unwise because it would "destroy the lining of your stomach". Maybe some others have some more information about this but this is what my doctor cautioned me.
  4. canarysue

canarysue New Member

Thank you for your answer. I don't have a lot of faith in this doctor I'm going to but hesitate to change (don't know why). I took celebrex and vioxx and loved them, but I can't take them because they make me swell terribly. Figures, I find something that works! lol I will look into ibuprofen further. Thanks again.

Carrie
  5. KLynn

KLynn New Member