If I am eligible for SSDI will my children be also?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by angeljoe, Dec 28, 2005.

1. angeljoe

angeljoe New Member

I have been earning disability insurance through my work for six months now. I am required by national contract from my work and union to apply for SSDI after six months. I am scared out of my mind by doing this because I've worked full time since sixteen. I bring home the majority income in my household. (even on temp disability) Would my children be eligible to earn SSDI? My husband works forty hours a week but doesn't earn very much money? I have Fibro/CFS/hypothyroidism. I have worked for the same company for 6 years. I might also be eligible for a disability retirement with my company.. Thanks so much for all replies in advanced.
    Angela
  2. jbennett2

jbennett2 New Member

bumping for angeljoe
  3. victoria

victoria New Member

you should go to the social security site and check...

My DH is on SSD, we got checks for each of our kids til they were 18 or out of high school; but in order to get the most allowed, I had to sign off that I would never claim benefits on their behalf as minors...

the difference between your situation and ours is that I was not working, but not sure that really made a difference or not since I had to sign off on it anyway.

Hope this helps!
    Victoria
  4. BLUEROSE7

BLUEROSE7 New Member

Yes...any and each child under the age of 18 would also recieve a monthly check(benefits) if you are awarded SSDI..

Your children can recieve benfits up until the age of 18 or out of school...(any schooling) Tip...Any child who goes on to a community collage or any kind of schooling after the age of 18 can still recieve benfits until no longer in school...

Hope this has helped some..
    Good Luck!!
    Hugs
    Bluerose