If I am wheat/gluten intolerant, can I use wheatgrass?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia and ME & Chronic Fatigue Syndrome' started by phoebe1, Nov 7, 2005.

1. phoebe1

phoebe1 New Member

I need advice please, I have an organic wheatgrass supplement in capsule form that I'm not sure if I can use?
    I'm intolerant towards wheat and gluten, sometimes I feel bloated and have a burning feeling in my stomach but I'm not sure if it's the supplement causing it.

Also any tips on what to eat and what to stay away from (like hidden gluten) would be appreciated, I'm fairly new to this and find it very difficult to stick to a diet.

Phoebe
  2. Jen102

Jen102 New Member

i have the same question about wheatgrass. is it the wheat plant but the stalk and not the grain? i hope somebody who knows will respond. so far i have just avoided it, but might benefit if it is gluten and wheat free. doesn't seem so.

i try to eat mostly what i make and know what is in it. hard to eat out. try to avoid condiments. i guess wheat is often used as a stabilizer in things like ketchup, but it may not be listed as is such a small amount, or may fit within the list of undeterminable items at the end of the ingredients list. i know they make some gluten-free ketchups from the coop or whole food stores. blessings to you. JEn102
  3. bpmwriter

bpmwriter New Member

i can't remember where i read this so don't quote me, but wheatgrass is supposedly fine for people with celiac. the reason for this is, when the wheat sprouts into grass, the gluten is converted in amino acids. still, it's a little like the oatmeal controversy. very sensitive individuals might have a problem with it when others might not. the source of the wheatgrass might make a difference as well (ie. capsules vs. fresh).

eddie
  4. sofy

sofy New Member

but I doubt if anyone knows for sure. We are all unique individuals and respond differently.