i'm afraid to tell people

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by rachel432, Jan 16, 2006.

1. rachel432

rachel432 New Member

hey all i need advise!
    i work as a nurse and i often here people i work with making fun of the diagnois of fibromyalgia and the people who have it. i was onle diagnosed a month and a half ago and the only person who seems to really seems to really understand what i'm going through is my husband. my arms and back hurt on a daily basis and there are times that i would just like to be able to say "i can't lift this right now it hurts to much" but after my own mother saying that i shouldn't need to take pain meds (she is very anti pain meds)and my brother thinking i'm just making this up i'm afraid to tell anyone else what my situation is. people i have counted on my whole life think i'm crazy. any ideas on how to gain the strength to tell people i need to tell i'm tired but i can't sleep, my body hurts to much right now to be lifting patients and i feel like i have no control over what is happening. i'm so afraid after these first reactions to even tell anyone how i feel, i feel like no one believes this is a real problem. the only people besides my husband i feel might be able to help are you all who i have learned so much from already. thanks.
    rachel
  2. jakeg

jakeg New Member

there is a post here somewhere thats called a letter to normals that may halp with the people that don't believe in this DD. I printed it and gave it to a few people that said oh its in your head not your body and it at least has stopped the comment that its in your head. I just hated when people said that, like your some kind of syco or something. The people that don't believe need to beinformed about this DD, it is the only way that they will understand that it is real and how it effects those that have it and their loved ones.

Jake
  3. natrlvr2

natrlvr2 New Member