i'm feeling lousy

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by andymac, Sep 17, 2005.

1. andymac

andymac New Member

hey everyone

most of you wont know me as i hav'nt been on for ages but i have reached a point in my life where i can honestly say i feel at my worst and it really upsets me as i am only 38 but due to having fibro and cfs for 17 years now i sometimes feel like an old man and not being able to sleep and my total lack of memory really does'nt help matters, i was a head chef for 13 years until last year when my doctor told me i had to give up work which was just another blow to my confidence but i had to agree with her as i was getting to a point where i could'nt lift myself out of bed never mind run a busy kitchen,so i am now at home and my wife is out working full time,i have applied for DLA twice and been knocked back on both occasions even after appealing the second time,this really was a real kick in the teeth and i was ready for just giving up on the whole thing but my doctor and my social worker have told me to re-apply as i have got progresively worse in the last six months.
    I have also been diagnosed with having cluster headaches which are just awfull and this means i cant leave the house for long as i am on oxygen for these and even after that i still did'nt get DLA.
    sorry for moaning but i get so anoid and angry at times and well maybe you guys may have some positive thoughts for me.
    i have to say that i have great support in my wife and we have 3 kids who keep me going and keep me from copletely giving up.
    andy
  2. jaltair

jaltair New Member

You must be from the UK (DLA), and I'm not familiar with your system. However, I've heard from many in the US who say that it takes at least 2 appeals after the initial application. That would mean that the "3rd's a charm" as the old addage goes! Perhaps that'll be the case where you are. Keep on going . . Hope to hear from you more often.

Jeannette
  3. andymac