I'm in a Clinical Trial For Neck Pain - And I think it's working!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by RPieri, Oct 7, 2002.

1. RPieri

RPieri New Member

Hi Everyone,

I'm in a clinical study on neck pain, comparing accupunture to accupunture combined with electric stimulation. (I'm in the group that's getting both.) It's an 8 week study, and I've been through the first two weeks. The first week I went it only worked for about a day and a half - I was so upset when the pain came back. I don't know about you guys - but I'd rather be in pain all of the time then go back and forth. I can deal with it if it's constant, I can't deal when it goes away and then comes back! Last week was week two and so far I only have very slight pain back. They told me that it's a cumulative effect (i.e. each week's treatment will last longer) All I can tell you is I'm :) about it so far!

I've never tried accupunture before, so I don't know if I would have gotten the same effects from accupunture alone. I do know that I don't want the trial to end. (Partially because it's helping and partially because they're planning on giving me trigger point injections when it's done - and they scare me!!!!) I've never had them before - and they thought of a needle going into a spot that KILLS when someone touches it - well - it just doesn't sit well with me.

Anyway - just figured I'd give you all the scoop. It's been a while since I've been here.

Robin
  2. RPieri

RPieri New Member

Hi Everyone,