I'm New here

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Lasso, Jul 20, 2003.

1. Lasso

Lasso New Member

Hi, this is my first time posting here.
    I have had CFS for about 9 years now and I am on disability because of it. I DON'T have a supportive family. Most of my relation insist that I'm just imagining things or that having CFS just means that I'm a "little" tired all the time. Some try to claim that the herbs I've tried to relieve some of the symptoms are what is REALLY making me sick! I didn't start taking herbs until LONG after I had been ill, but they still insist that the herbs "MADE" me sick.
    I was wondering if anybody else had this problem? After 9 years you'd think they'd come around.
  2. suz41

suz41 New Member

Hi Lasso, welcome to our world, as you will most surly see there are a great deal of supportive caring people on this board. Sorry to hear that your family doesn't understand, hopefully you will find support in the members here. Do you have a CFIS support group in your area. Maybe that would be helpful. There is a locator source at the top of the page for support groups. Hope you begin to feel better, keep us posted on how things are going good or bad. Thats what this place is for SUPPORT. Take Care,

Suz
  3. jadibeler

jadibeler New Member

I think most of us here have been through the skepticism of family & friends. Even with a diagnosis, which I thought would validate me, I still had trouble convincing people. I've had FM all my life - I was ridiculed as a child by the other kids, because I couldn't do even the simplest things in gym, my first husband and his mother thought I was the laziest thing they'd ever seen, neighbors thought my daily nap was a habit, etc and so on.

You would think, with so much known about FM and CFS, that people would recognize that we are really sick, but I still have people asking me "What's that?" The frustration can drive you to drink.