i'm new to this

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kthack, Sep 27, 2006.

1. kthack

kthack New Member

i have been struggling for over a year now with my fibromyalgia. i do stretching exercises everyday and take a sleeping pill sparaticly, and my pain has gotten a little better, but my question is what do i do about the pain that is here now, i haven't been perscribed any medications and the over the counter stuff does not work at all, it's becoming unbearable and no one is listening to me. do i need a new doctor, or am i just not asking him the right questions? my family is hard to talk to because i always feel like i'm complaining or making up excuses, and they're afraid i'm going to get addicted to meds.

any suggestions or insight would be greatly appreciated

thanks, katie

2. rockgor

rockgor Well-Known Member

I am from Minnesota too. Yeah, you betcha.

You might check out the post titled "What helped Me" which is currently on page 3. It has info from a number of people.

Another way to find it would be to click on my name at the left. Looking at the list of postings, you would see "What helped Me" about half-way down. Click on the title of the post to read it.

I grew up in the village of Harmony, near Rochester and Winona. Have lived in Los Angeles for the last 40 years or so.

Good luck. Ha det bra.
  3. DoveL

DoveL Member

Welcome Kate,

Sorry to hear about your pain, I can relate (I have FMS, and CFS), the pain is constant here to, but on different levels. If you are into taking pain meds, then find a doc who will perscribe them. For me, I try and do without meds. I MAYBE take a pain med, once every 2 months or so. Here's what I do to help with my pain: