I'm new - trying to cope with working in health care.

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by erinmac, Jan 23, 2003.

1. erinmac

erinmac New Member

Hi, I'm not new to fibro, read it all & probably have done it all too but what I stuggle with is trying to work and not give in to pain/fatigue. I'm a medical social worker who works in a dialysis unit. Our pt's are chronically ill and need dialysis 3 times a week to survive. Herein lies my struggle. Most of our pt's are incredible, cope remarkably well and there's me! - who most days has to lie on my office floor for a few minutes when the pain & fatigue gets bad!! I often think they (patients) do much, much better than me!There have been days where I almost envy them needing to recline in a chair for 3-4 hrs!!! wishing I could just lie down- then I realize I'm nuts!! I started going for counseling to try & cope better - which is what I do myself! My job is to help chronically ill people cope & adapt to illness & lifestyle changes!!!! Won't go on & on but wondered if there's anyone out there in a similar position??? Intellectually I know I'm not alone but the hardest is the isolation (probably self-imposed)cause no one understands how bad it can get except a fibro buddy so here I am. Thanks, Barbara M.
  2. MTdew

MTdew New Member