I'm scared

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by texangal81, Jun 24, 2008.

1. texangal81

texangal81 New Member

I'm losing my mental acuity. I'm deeply upset over the loss of something that is very important to me - my intelligence. I have never been a terribly active person; I don't desire to climb Mt. Everest or run a marathon. I hated PE and ballet and all aerobics did was wear me out. In looking back I wonder if I have had this DD most of my life. So the inability to row from California to Hawaii doesn't upset me.

But losing my brains do (does? see, I can't even remember grammar anymore). I stumble and stammer over words when I speak to my customers and I sound like an idiot. My spelling is declining and the only reason my handwriting isn't atrocious is because it has always been atrocious. I graduated in the top 10% of my HS class, went back to school when I was 30 and graduated Magna Cum Laude at 37. I worked on my masters, got divorced at 40, picked up a few computer tricks and 3 years later was a highly paid Technical Support Analyst. I was given kudos and compliments from co-workers, bosses, and customers. If I didn't know how to do something I asked for a book and an hour and I would figure it out.

I'm not bragging, I'm crying, I'm devastated. I can't do this anymore. My attention span is worse than a gnat. I can't focus on the products I'm being paid to support. When I can halfway focus, I can't retain what I'm learning. I can't concentrate to study for my latest certification tests. I was all excited about going back for my masters and that is impossible right now. I used to LOVE what I did and I was good at it. I couldn't wait to get to work and dig into customer's problems. Now it is like there is something in the way while I try to think and it won't go away.