I'm taking the dive today..I'm going for my first mamogram

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Carlacat, Dec 6, 2002.

1. Carlacat

Carlacat New Member

Wish me luck....
  2. Carlacat

Carlacat New Member

Wish me luck....
  3. JP

JP New Member

Hi carlacat,

I had my baseline at age 39. It was not a bad experience. As for pain, I had some and I am so familiar with pain that it was okay.

I trust you will do well...jan
  4. JaciBart

JaciBart Member

Let is know, I need to get going on those but I just hurt so bad & I am a baby!!!!

Needles just kill me these days & I never had a problem before, but then it never used to hurt to be touched, hugged, kissed on cheek (mustache hubby) and anything else that touches my body!!!!!!

My blankets in bed do not hurt tho, that it one thing.

Jaci
  5. klutzo

klutzo New Member

I am a veteran of the Mammogram, having had 21 of them so far! My first lump was discovered at age 30 and the Mammogram showed fibrocystic breasts, a common condition in women who have not carried a child to term. I have had to have one every yr. becaue of it, and am now 51. They press down a lot harder now and take more views than they used to way back when, but it is nothing compared to FMS pain and is over in a minute.
    I often think the very worst thing about FMS pain is that it does not end. With other pain, there is always the light at the end of the tunnel and you can say to yourself "this too shall pass". Compared to FMS, a mammogram is a day at the beach.
    I don't mean to get nosey, but aren't you awfully young to be having a mammogram? I hope nothing is wrong.
    God Bless,
    Klutzo
  6. tandy

tandy New Member

I started having them at 30,I've had a least 3 or 4.They're not bad~ slightly uncomfortable...if that,No pain for me.And I'm a hearty C!!lol I'm due for one again after the holidays.Its a breeze!!
    Good luck!
    Tracey
  7. pam_d

pam_d New Member