Important Info on Meds (Cytoxan) re Sjogrens .... Raynauds, Lupus

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by JLH, Jun 4, 2006.

1. JLH

JLH New Member

A Story from a Person with Lupus, Sjogrens Syndrome, & Raynauds ....

by - Geri Lynn, a member of RemedyFind-Lupus

[NOTE: THIS CONTAINS SOME IMPORTANT INFO ON MEDS THAT SOME OF US PROBABLY TAKE]

My grandmother passed away from SLE at age 59. She died after one year of lupus diagnosis. She died of suffocation due to Sjogren's syndrome. My mom was diagnosed at age 59 with SLE at the same time I was diagnosed with SLE at age 31.

During the years of lupus activity, I worked full time as a special education elementary teacher but would sleep 10 to 12 hours after working each day. The physical changes related to 60 mgs of prednisone for 10 years were difficult at times. People who knew me prior to taking this medication would not recognize me because of the weight gain and puffiness in my face. I remember looking at myself in the mirror and thinking someday I will look like myself again.

As a result of the 100 mgs of Cytoxan for 3 1/2 years, I became sterile at age 31. At the time I was not married, but I did marry a friend after having met 17 years prior. We had supported each other through many of life's experiences through years of living in different locations. We do wonder what it would be like if we could have conceived and bore our own birth son or daughter. We have adopted two daughters, ages 5 & 19. We continue to welcome children and teens into our home through foster care for the past 7 of the 8 years of our marriage together. So even though we have not been able to have a birth child together, we have been blessed in many ways as a family.