In Addition

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by johnston, Nov 1, 2006.

1. johnston

johnston New Member

please consider this:

This may be the only place we don't feel invisible.....
    We are amongst people who understand first-hand. I have often said no one can understand this unless they have it.
    My husband is so supportive and tries to understand. He does a great job, but he cannot understand the extent of how this robs you of you.

Here some of us feel validated. Feel we still have something to give. Feel heard. FEEL REAL!

My own example:

Not to d/t FM but 1st: I was no longer a mommie. A mom, yes; but my children were 7-9hours away---grown. No more painted pics on the fridge; no more soccer/baseball/etc games to root for. No more identity as MOMMIE>>>>

2nd: Loss of career: I was a nurse for 23yrs. No more kudos from patients. No more kudos from supervisors. No more promotions. No more raises. No more working and feeling productive. No bringing any money into the home to help with finances. Loss of identity as a productive part of society.

3rd: Loss of being the "dream" wife: I had been single for about 9yrs before remarrying. During that time I dreamed of being a certain wife. I'm not. Loss of feeling I am the wife my husband deserves.

4th: Loss of hobbies: Can't participate in physical sports; an avid dancer; a reader; all that defined me gone.

5th: An independent, strong, survivor who never quit: I haven't quit life, but so much I finally had to admit I could no longer do. Loss of identity.

6th: Loss of being a great cook: before you would NEVER/EVER find instant potatoes/rice or frozen veg. in my freezer. Today the easier it is to prepare in case I don't feel like it, the better! Loss of identity.

7th: Loss of credibility: even in my own medical field. I have always tried to be so very honest. Now, I feel I constantly have to PROVE to people (sometimes including myself) that I AM SICK!