Info about Guaifensin

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by wildcatmom, Jan 25, 2006.

1. wildcatmom

wildcatmom New Member

Hi everyone

I am new to the message boards. I was wanting info on how to take guaifensin. I have read to start with the lowest dose 2x a day and move up from there to I now its working. But my questions are do they come in different mg and if so what name or brand? Also how long to you know if it working, like I start with the low dose how long do I stay on it before I know its not working?
    Sorry I hope I am making sense.
    Thanks
    Wildcatmom
  2. pastorwife

pastorwife Member

I've been on the Guai protocol for a few years now. Here's what I found:

First and foremost, I bought the book "What Your Doctor May NOT Tell You About Fibromyalgia" by R. Paul St. Amand and Claudia Craig Marek (ISBN 0-446-67512-1) It explains all that you'd want to know.

Mucinex (OTC - available many places including Walmart and other discount stores, drug stores, etc), has blue dyed tablets 600 mg, doesn't work for me. Any Guai with a blue dye hasn't helped me at all, even prescription ones (before it became OTC). I use only "dye free" and have only found it readily available through ProHealth (this is not a paid advertisement!). Their dye free also have a pleasant vanilla tasting coating (not strong). They come in 400 mg (fast acting) strength. Also, it must be ONLY Guai and no other active ingredient, such as the way it's found in cough and cold meds/syrups.

I believe you can take up to 1200mg per day (2 of the 600mg which seem to all be blue OR 3 400mg per day). I take 1 400 mg in the morning and 1 in the evening. Not sure where the book recommends you start.

Also, there is a warning the book that taking Guai MAY make you feel worse initially. I did not experience that. Hopefully you won't either.
  3. Mikie

Mikie Moderator