Introduction,and pain relief idea....

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by tammyinwv, Dec 28, 2002.

1. tammyinwv

tammyinwv New Member

Hi,I am new to this board.I am a nurse disbaled with fibromyalgia.I have recently made and been using these moist heat pads that are so comforting,and really helps some to sooth the aches and pains of my fm.They are made with a corn product(that does not pop).they will stay warm for about an hour or more.You just heat in microwave for 2 min.Some have made them with rice can be a fire hazard and dont stay warm as long as the corn.My kids have used them as bed warmers.You can also freeze them to use as ice packs.I made them about 7x18 with handles on the ends.this size drapes so well around neck and shoulders.I also use them on my sore hips.They are easy to make.Hope if you guys try to make them, you also find some relief.I have been suffering with this since 95.
  2. sofy

sofy New Member

Welcome and thanks for the tip but you left out some basic information on the "how to make them" and exactly what you are filling them with. Those of us who have no income are always looking for low cost self help.
  3. tandy

tandy New Member

I got mine at a craft fair.They're just like the rice socks but I guess theres something else in there???I don't know what the heck it is, but it feels bigger than a rice grain.They sell for around $5-7. I love mine!!I plan on getting more the next time I see them.
    So what is this corn product?
    Tracey
  4. enivalorac

enivalorac New Member