Introduction...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Raven41, Jun 21, 2003.

1. Raven41

Raven41 New Member

Hi All... I am new here. I was recently diagnosed with Chronic Fatique Syndrome/Fibromyalgia. I am still learning much about the conditions, but already knew a little since my sister has dealt with it for years. I don't know why it decided to hit me later in life, as I have been in great health for the past several year, but have suffered for year with migraine headaches. I started having worse headaches and a "bout" of mononucleosis had started at my son's school. At first, my doctor assumed that I had mono, because the symptoms were all there. However, months later it did not go away. I wake up in pain, spend a big majority of day in pain, and usually go to bed in pain. I have flu-like symptoms and I ache all over, from head to toe on most occasions.... but there are places on my arms and legs that hurt worse than other places and I always seem to have worse pain on the right side of my body, even in my head. After dealing with this for months, I finally told my doctor that I couldn't deal with it much longer. He ran some blood tests that are apparently non-routine, so I didn't realize that I had the Epstein Barr Virus in my bloodstream. He finally diagnosed me with the CFS, stating that I have all the symptoms and he has checked everything else out and it's not lupus, it's not rheumatoid arthritus and I still have a high titer for the Epstein Barr Virus that the lab flagged on my last panel of bloodwork. It's all I can do to get up in the mornings and to go to work and come home and do anything because of my energy level. The pain meds just make me more tired and exhausted. I am presently taking hydrocodone and phenergan (when I am nauseated). I also have taken Percocet and Mepergan (Demerol with phenergan) when the pain gets really bad. I just really hate to be dependent upon the meds, but it's about the only realistic way that I could make