Is anyone here very sensitive to dental procedures?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by phoebe1, Jan 28, 2007.

1. phoebe1

phoebe1 New Member

I'm not sure why, but I have very weak teeth (think I have my mother's genes to thank for that!) and although I'm very young I feel like I'm a regular at the dentist.
    Last year I had a root canal (big mistake I'm sure things went even further downhill form there!) and I chipped a tooth on a popcorn kernel. This was a tooth that also had a root canal and an apicectomy further down the line so it was already weakened.

Last week I chipped another tooth (the root canal I had done last year) so I went to the dentist.
    It was one of the most horrible and frightening experiences I have ever had!
    He injected me but instead of numbing my tooth it paralysed the one side of my face. I couldn't speak and I couldn't blink my eye, it was really scary!
    He said "oops, this has only happened once to me and now with you it is the second time, I will have to inject you again".
    The second one didn't work either, and I was sitting there in the chair, unable to speak or blink my very light-sensitive eye which was burning like fire at that time.
    Then he dropped one of his sharp instruments on my head "oops, sorry it slipped out of my hand", that was the last straw for me and I started getting very teary eyed.

So then off course all the boogies were running down my throat and I started gagging and couldn't breathe and had to sit upright and nearly threw up. He injected me a third time and said that technically I really shouldn't be able to feel anything, but he is going to consult with another dentist, which said that the tooth broke off right to the bone and that is why I can still feel it.
    So he injected me a fourth time, under my tongue, it was very painful. By this time I was crying like a baby and they were very apologetic but it didn't really help.