Is this real?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by keetta, Aug 23, 2009.

1. keetta

keetta New Member

How can I go from having back problems to having FM? I went in to get a spinal shot for 2 bulging disks and was told that I have FM...how does that happen? How does a Dr. that is seeing me for the first time tell me I have something that Ive never even heard of? Is this real, or is this something he came up with so he could throw more pills at me to try to keep me happy and NOT do my spinal shot?
    Ive read all the info on FM and yes I have a lot of the symptoms and dont have others, but arent there 1000's of people out there that have a lot of the symptoms and dont have FM?
    Im looking for answers from someone to tell me what the hell is going on! I cant live like other people are saying Im gonna have to live! I HAVE to work for a living and the job I have doesnt put up with sissy's. I have to be able to pull my weight at work and with this it doesnt sound like Im going to be able to without paying for it!
    Help!
  2. Janalynn

Janalynn New Member

What was discussed at your appt that made your Dr. come up with this diagnosis?

You need to have a tender point test at the very least. Since you didn't go in asking for what's going on, I wouldn't think you'd need all the blood work etc. to rule out other things.
    I would think that bulging discs would certainly be reason to have back pain!

Do you have pain anywhere else?

Having FM doesn't mean he shouldn't give you the spinal shots that's for sure. Did he offer you any advice, prescribe anything?
    I don't blame you for needing/wanting more information. I'd say get a different opinion.

You can go to a rheumatologist.

Janalynn
  3. keetta

keetta New Member