Is weight loss common with CFS?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by davemason, Oct 30, 2005.

1. davemason

davemason New Member

Hello everybody. This is my first time on the site and it has been very helpful thus far.. I'm still not sure if i have CFS, and therefore have a few queries that some of you might be able to help me with. I have had my symptoms for almost 4 months. I have been to see the docs probably ten thousand times, and all their tests are all fantastic at telling me what i don't have. Anyway, here is some background-

Right now i live in Taipei Taiwan, working as an English teacher. I have been here for almost a year, and four months ago i left for Thailand for a vacation with my friend. Before the trip i was under quite a bit of stress, both at work and putting toegether a busines plan in the evenings. I was eating relatively well, but i did sneak in one or two heinekens in the evenings. Anyway, after about three days in Thailnad i came down with what i now label my accute symptoms. (Flu like generally, horrible dreams at night, fever, and a funny pain on under my right ribcage that lasted for about a month. I had pretty weird brain fog- i'm used to it now, but i ruined my month long vacation) So i finally went to see the doc at a nice hospital in Bangkok and he found, after many blood tests that my WBC were elevated, yet he couldn't find any indication of a local infection. So he prescribed me some broad spectrum antibioics, which offered some temporary relief from the symptoms. But all of these symptoms returned after a week- the WBC count was normal however. '