Its been a while but need some advice about doctors

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by PrincessofYoga, Aug 21, 2002.

1. PrincessofYoga

PrincessofYoga New Member

Hi everyone!
    I haven't been on a while. Reasons are plenty but mostly because I had to stop focusing on how bad I felt and doing something about it. (not that anyone here isn't...I would just get caught up in complaining and bellyaching that I wasn't seeing the solutions...just the problems.

Here is my dilemma..

I have made a big move. I am moving in an upward position in my company...but taking a loss in money. I will be working less hours (30 instead of 40) to hopefully get myself in check and ready for anything that comes. I am still very new to my diagnosis and this illness so I struggle with the things it throws at me daily, as does everyone.

I am currently on 20mg of Elavil..working wonders for my sleep and was for my pain. I was still taking advil for my headaches...of which I have frequently, if not daily. I have noticed that I take it alot (4 every 4-6 hours until I go to bed) and I am worried about the long term effects of that on my kidneys..and anything else that it may be effecting. Not only that, but over the past 3 days, I have noticed my pain level right back to where it was before the elavil (I guess its a flare).

I see my doctor next week. I love him. He is letting me guide my treatment. Cant ask for more than that. I tried yoga but honestly, it was a two hour class and I didnt get home until after 10. I cant do that to myself (I was so tired when I got out of there I couldn't even find my car!). What would you suggest that I tell him? I was thinking that I need an actual pain killer now, maybe Ultram since I have heard so much about it but I have read that you can not take elavil and ultram together (any anti-depressant I believe).

Any thoughts ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks!
  2. PrincessofYoga

Hi everyone!