I've developed a strange habit..

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by 3sa, Sep 15, 2008.

1. 3sa

3sa New Member

Hello everybody. I need to tell someone , and I hope you can help me figure this out. I have started scratching my arms till they bleed. Like I will get a bug bite and scratch at it. It never gets a chance to heal. I have 6 spots on my forearms. It's embarrassing. I don't know why I do this. These spots are starting to hurt, & I have put band aids on them. I just think I'm going nuts. With all the other stuff I have to deal with I do this to myself. These spots are not all bug bites. I just dig at my skin. I've been doing this for about 2 months , but it is getting worse. I'm not taking any new meds. I'm taking cymbalta, mobic, ultram,doxipin.
    Am I just crazy?
  2. ABLUV

ABLUV New Member

something is going on with your nerves. I'm having similar
    prob and was planning on asking about this too. So I hope we both can get an answer. In the meantime, you can do what I'm doing and find an herbal tea that soothes the nervous system: Tension Tamer by Celestial Seasons, or Oatstraw, Scullcap, Valerian can be found at a health food store.
  3. 3sa

3sa New Member

I love that tea. Thanks, I never thought of that. I'm going to give it a try.
    Thank you so much for responding. I was starting to feel like I was going off the deep end. :)
  4. cordy250

cordy250 Member

I do seem to have repeated itchy spots that I will scratch until raw unless I do something different. Some of them are the aftermath of shingles that I had many, many years ago.

What I usually do is force myself to put benadryl gel on them and not scratch until it takes effect. I like the gel because it cools. Sometimes it stings if I have scratched too much before I put it on, but even that is better than itching.
  5. Exfa

Exfa New Member