Jobs for people with Fibromyalgia

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by DenverJAC, Jun 28, 2009.

1. DenverJAC

DenverJAC New Member

I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia 3 years ago, and have not been able to work due to lack of conentration, fatigue and pain. I volunteer one day a week for 4 hours which is my time limit for returning home to rest. I need a part-time job, one that is very flexible with day/hours worked (I have a hard time getting out of bed, and have 1-2 really bad days a month where I do not leave my bedroom). I would prefer to have a work-at-home position - I have computer and customer service skills. I have a college degree and am a quick learner. Does anyone have any ideas on jobs that would cater to my needs?
  2. hermitlady

hermitlady Member

I really need to figure out something part time also. My Dr suggested taking a class on medical insurance billing, this field will always need people. He said you can work part time, flexible hours, and it's a desk job so you're not on your feet. You might want to check it out. Our Junior College has classes for it, but my brain fog is usually so bad that I doubt I'd remember anything! Not to mention, it sounds so BORING!

My problem is that I can get hit w a fatigue/weakness crash at any time and without warning. When this happens, I HAVE to lie down or I will fall down! Not a very good quality for a prospective employee, I can't imagine trying to hold down a job. I guess it would have to be something that I could do at home like you were saying.

I have a BS in Mechanical Engineering and I only worked in the field for around 8 yrs before quitting to be a SAHM. A few yrs after that, the FM/CFS/Depr hit and I haven't worked since.

Disability isn't avail for me cuz I haven't worked in over 10 yrs, is there anything out there that would help me bring in some $$$? My dh took a big pay cut a couple of months ago, so we're in dire need of more monthly income.