just curious......any artist out there or those or like to create?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by sunflowergirl, Aug 25, 2012.

1. sunflowergirl

sunflowergirl Active Member

I try to paint almost daily since it really takes me out of my pain. I had been working/playing in watercolors for awhile but have switched back to using oils and I feel like I've come home. I can paint for hours on end and forget myself. It's not until I'm cleaning up for the night that I start to realize I'm in pain. I guess this means this is what I'm supposed to do.

(I started this post on the fibromyalgia board and there have been responses. Mikie suggested it be put here to reach more)
  2. TwoCatDoctors

TwoCatDoctors New Member

I love to do art in various forms but I'm not an artist, but what I do satisfies me and that's all I have to satisfy.

I take a class that meets once a week for 8 weeks and only occurs about once a year. It is for those who are rising from cancer, who have MS, who are disabled, who have depression, fibro and many other ailments and it is a class that stresses meditation, relaxation and nothing we do in the class is "wrong." She plays relaxing music. It's a wonderful class. One of my cats always comes to the class with me.

The last class, I got up the nerve to try my hand at sculpture using a child's medium and it worked well and would dry in 24 hours. I made the Sphinx from Egypt but placed a cat's head on it. Then I painted it and decorated it to satisfy what I wanted. I had a blast.

I also painted and decorated a facial mask and had a good time doing it and used fake jewels on part of it.

At home, my cats are always with me when working on an art project. Almost like they are supervisors and mentors for my art. I also did a painting on a small rock and later got a book about painting pets on rocks (and even on bricks) and I look forward to trying painting on a red brick one day.