Just diagnosed today..

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Pauliana, Mar 28, 2003.

1. Pauliana

Pauliana New Member

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting. After several years
    of aches,lots of tenderness,pain,stiffness,lack of sleep, IBS,acid reflux, low blood pressure, you know all the miseries, I finally got diagnosed with Fibromyalgia by my new Doctor..I've been to many doctors for these many symptoms, but none would say Fibromyalgia until this morning.

He told me he wants me to walk, take a yoga class and
    see him in a month.. He gave me a prescription for
    the acid reflux but that was it. He says the pain won't go away but exercize will improve many of my symptoms..Am I on
    the right track here??

Thanks for any guidance you can provide..

Pauliana

2. prsonlfailur

prsonlfailur New Member

i'd say get a new doc.

i was just diagnosed yesterday. he encouraged me to keep walking, gave me flexeril for sleeping, wellbutrin, ultracet for the pain. when i told him i'd gotten my first migraine last week, he gave me medicine for that, too. he also gave me a pressure point injection.

can't say i feel like i used to, but i do feel better already.
  3. 2girls

2girls New Member

Hi Pauliana - Welcome!

My doc said the same thing - exercise, which by the way, I and many others were no stranger to prior to FM. Yes exercise is good and can help eleviate some of the pain but the key here is moderation. Personally, the only exercise that is helpful for me is walking (aside from the regular housecleaning, gardening, etc). Stretching is also good.
    You need to find something to help you sleep - either natural supplements or rx.
    There is some excellent information right here on this board. We are all learning what works best for us as individuals and sharing the wealth..
    Hoping you find what works for you,

2girls
  4. layinglow

layinglow New Member