Just Diagnosed w/ Fibromyalgia

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by julieann29, Mar 19, 2010.

1. julieann29

julieann29 New Member

I was just diagnosed two weeks ago. My doctor started me out on Lyrica 50mg twice/day and my doctor is increasing my dosage to 75mg/twice day. I am just waiting on my mail order prescription. My question is I started Nutrisystem diet program a last Monday because I am overweight. I wanted to start exercising so yesterday I walked 1 mile. This morning I woke up with terrible pain all over and missed work, although I have been taking my initial dose of Lyrica. Is this normal? I thought walking would be low impact and not hurt me so much. My other question is I'm worried about being able to continue working. I am a locomotive engineer (drive trains) for a class 1 railroad and have been there 18 years. I don't have a schedule and am on call 24/7. The long train trips sitting in bad seats are starting to take a toll on me as well as low back muscle spasms. I am so worried about having to go on disability because I know the railroad will not make concessions for me. It is a good job and I'm scared because of the economy and I consider myself fortunate to have this job. As I said, Any good advice for a newbie? I'm just beginning to learn about Fibro so please bear with me.
  2. kat211

kat211 New Member