Just found out I have RA too...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by shan1078, Jan 19, 2006.

1. shan1078

shan1078 New Member

I went back to my regular Dr. this past Tuesday, and she told me that I have a high Rheumatoid factor in my blood work, and that I have RA. How can this be, I'm only 27. So now I have both! No wonder the Tylenol 3 I'm taking doesen't even touch the pain.

I'm going to see a Rheumatologist for the first time next Tuesday. Can anyone tell me what to expect. Are these Dr's able to prescribe med's stronger that Tylenol 3? Any info. I can get about Rheums's Dr.'s would be great.
  2. shan1078

shan1078 New Member

Thank you, I'm just a little nervous.
  3. GBHope

GBHope New Member

How high was a RF? Mine is usually 1:160, but different labs have different ways of measuring it.

GBHope
  4. tifflyn

tifflyn New Member

Hi there ~
    Im new at this so I hope I get this right... I was tested for a bunch of things and my regular Dr. told me I tested positive for the Rheumatoid factor... when I finally got to see a Rheumatologist he tested just some of my tender points and told me it was the FM I had, not the RA. I guess you can test positive for it, but yet it not be whats the matter with you... Hope you have better luck getting a better med then Tylenol, cause my Rheumy didnt help me out what so ever.. told me to do yoga.. yeah right! Is there a yoga you can do sitting? :)
  5. scrapkat

scrapkat New Member