Just got diagnosed with Shingles

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by 6cats, Jun 12, 2008.

1. 6cats

6cats New Member

Help! I was surprised at this diagnosis. I got a rash under my right chest area and thought it was heat rash because I dont wear a bra all the time because the straps hit my pressure points. (The rash I noticed this past weekend). Then 3 days ago I started getting a dull pain that turned into sharp stabbing pains in that area and around into my back.

My hubby told me to go to the Dr which I did today and I am now on Valtrex 1 GM 6 pills total 3 pills to take for 2 days.

Someone posted that shingles can impair your vision?? Do you think something like this I caught early enough? Now I am taking vicodin for the pain as well...it feels if it isnt one thing its another...sheesh...
  2. robin1667

robin1667 New Member

My father got shingles a few yrs ago. He got it on his face close to his eyes. He has had problems with his eye site. I'm no doctor,but I would think as long as it is not on your face you should be ok. But please don't take my word for it,ask your doctor about any concerns as to relieve your mind.Take your pain kllers on time. My dad learned the hard way and the pain got terrible for him when he didn't take it as prescribed.This could take a while to pass.Stess can bring this about.
    I know what you mean if it's not one thing it's another!!
    I have a pregnant daughter with MRSA in her lungs. It almost killed her a few months ago.The doc said she could relapse,I am so worried!
    Sorry I got off topic.But I know what you mean. Robin
  3. Didoe

Didoe New Member

i had an older friend who got shingles when he was in his 70s; his grandchild had german measles and he was exposed, not realizing lack of immunity--he was in agony and not someone to complain easily.