Just needing to belong...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mamusia, Nov 21, 2002.

1. mamusia

mamusia New Member

Hi, I am new to the message board and this is my first posting. I have been reading messages for several weeks now and I have been impressed with the amount of sharing and support that everyone gives to each other.

I guess I just needed to belong to this because I have been feeling very overwhelmed and isolated because of what has happened in such a short time since my diagnosis of FMS/CMP Complex.

For years just like all of you so many things were happening to me and I would be mistreated or brushed off by medical persons. Finally in July of this year the pain became so severe that I have not been able to stand completely upright from my lowerback area. In August my Rheumatologist made the diagnosis, and as of the end of this month I will have a new Primary Care Physician that will help coordinate my care with my Rheumy.

I had not realized how much stress plays a roll in this illness and I am no stranger to stress. My job was very stressful for 20 years in the financial industry and operations divisions (with overbearing bosses), my mother and two brothers passed away from cancer, found out I had fourth level endometriosis that was pre-cancerous and had to have a hysterectomy, and then when all was seemingly lost met my husband (he's a pretty special guy).

We moved to Florida (little bit of stress there leaving family and friends, but we thought the weather would help my "made up aches and pains" and "have an overeating problem and anxiety syndrome" as the doctors called it - keep in mind that at the time the doctors said this I was about 155 pounds and am 6 foot 2 inches tall). We had always wanted to have a family of our own so after years of domestic adoption disappointment we went through a lengthy and stressful international adoption process and brought home our 3 beautiful children last year.