Just returned to work after a month of disability leave

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by megchampagne, Apr 27, 2007.

1. megchampagne

megchampagne New Member

Long story short, my FM got so bad, and my anxiety so bad, that I couldn't even talk to people in a civil manner. I was being rude and snappy with everybody, and my boss told me to check in with my rheumatologist to see if taking time off would be of some benefit.

So I spent one month out of the office, doing physical therapy, taking two hot baths a day, meditating, relaxing. By the middle of Week 4 I was feeling great and looked forward to returning to work.

This is now the end of Week Two back at the office and my body is crying out HELP! HELP! HELP! Although my anxiety is gone, my pain is even slightly worse than it was before I took my leave. I am doing everything right. I am doing stretches twice a day, getting up and walking away from my desk, I have a lumbar cushion for my chair, etc. I take hot baths at night and hot showers in the morning. I'm finally on a decent prescriptive protocol (ahhhh Darvocet) and even though the pain is gone, the tension is still there.

I DON'T know what to do. Please help.
  2. IntuneJune

IntuneJune New Member

I have to do a LOT to keep things going, myofascial release appointments, working out in the water, stretching at home, just added inversion, diet, etc, etc.

If I do an activity, such as working at my computer as a medical transcriptionist for eight hours a day, sitting in the same position even with ergonomically correct set up including the chair, the mere motion detracts from my overall comfort.

To overcome that negative activity, I have to put in even more time combatting that effect.

You are on the right road, but for me, because I continue to work (mainly for health benefits first and yes the money) I have to work even harder to overcome those the physical strain on the body.

Keep up the good work, June
  3. lizable11