Just signed on

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by snester, Feb 16, 2003.

1. snester

snester New Member

Hi, at the recommendation of a member (sweetiepie) I have joined your group.

I am brand new to this disease. I am not a happy camper either. My whole life has been thrown into turmoil. I was dx'd in December(my doctor's first choice). This was after shrugging off symptoms or assigning them to other causes for almost 3 years. I would guess that I have been experiencing an acute flare since October 2002...I refer to it as the baseball bat analogy.
    Granted I waited until December to see a doctor, and in the mean time kept up ALL of my physical activity, while ingesting ibuprofen by the handful. Now I am on Neurontin, PRN and Feldene 2xday. I have not been able to ride or swim. I am trying to do pilates...even this can be excruiating.
    I have had blood work to rule out lupus and other things. I had the joy of experiencing an MRI, not my favorite thing to do. I will be seeing a neurologist in March. My doctor has even mentioned RSDS (relfex sympathetic dystrophy).
    I am assuming that my trials and tribulations are similar to most of you. Knowing that this screaming pain in my biceps and shoulders and the tingling and numbness in both arms may never go away is not pleasant.Let's not even mention the constant brain fog. I guess I am entering the "oh, poor me/why me??" phase of acceptance.
    How does one fight against this?? I am not a patient person, I understand that I may need to pratice harder at being patient. How long does it take to find a combination of drugs and therapy that will allow me to get back to riding, playing tug-o-war with my dog, or cookng without fear of dropping pots of food???
    Thanks for the space to vent. Sue
  2. phenom

phenom New Member