Kathleen Houghton: The Thief of Many Lives

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Kathy, Dec 29, 2002.

1. Kathy

Kathy New Member

Dear Group,

I am so very humbled with all of your kind words re: my CFS Reality article "The Thief of Many Lives."
    I had written "The Thief" in my very early days of CFS.

I would like to tell you a little bit about me, if you are interested in getting aquainted.

My name is Kathleen Houghton. I am NOT a writer, I am/was a nurse. I am almost 48 years old. Pre-CFS I was a Pediatric Special Care nurse caring for infants and children on life support. I am well respected by most in the medical community. Since CFS, I have been mostly homebound (past 12+ years) though I do have some "good spells" every now and then.

In my early days of CFS, I had to have 24 x 7 nursing care as I was unable to even turn or feed myself and I was in diapers. I also had insurance in those days!

Many of my early symptoms have gone into hiding at the moment, however, I have MANY new health problems now... Porphyria, chronic pancreatitis, peripheral neuropathy, cardiac and neurological problems too long to list, major cervical spinal surgery a year ago (out of the clear blue sky I might add) SEVERE Multiple Chemical Sensitivity in which on a "good day" I can neither have company or be company due to the everyday chemicals people use on their body and clothes. SERIOUS ISOLATION... I consider this my "Kriptonite" like Superman would, I collapse at one whiff of fabric softener/ perfume etc. Those are a few of my day to day nightmares. One thing that I DO NOT suffer from is depression. Frustration YES... depression NO ! For obvious reasons.

I have a great doctor as well as a great neuro-surgeon and anesthesiologist who all believe how sick I am and they are all very compassionate. We all know that they can not
    "make me" better. We all do our best.

My suggestions...