Ketamine possibilities for pain? FWIW

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by victoria, Mar 30, 2011.

1. victoria

victoria New Member

Interesting studies especially about Ketamine being used for RSD/Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy... which has an overlap with Fibro... In Germany it was used in high dosage and about 40+% had complete remittance of pain. Granted that was for RSD, but it is considered part of Complex Regional Pain Syndrome as is Fibro often, I think.

Anyway, FWIW:

2. inprog

inprog Member

Remember Michael Jackson and what happened to him?

Maybe consider something like FSM. Sounds like you are in a lot of pain. Maybe worth checking out. If you only want to go with traditional medicine, then there might be other injectables. I would think ketamine is too dangerous to use for humans. I am not a doctor but that is my opinion only. If you read above, there is lots of variability too which could trip you up if you get the wrong kind.

[This Message was Edited on 04/06/2011]
  3. victoria

victoria New Member

to be intriguing, especially what they are doing in Germany. If one is in intractable pain and can no longer use narcotics for one reason or another, I would probably try it. I am not in pain, I was just posting this as a FYI/FWIW.

Ketamine was also found to reduce the time it took for antidepressants to work from weeks to hours.

I just think that with judicious and careful use, the baby shouldn't be thrown out with the bathwater, so to speak. It is what is being attempted with narcotics overall anyway due to the addicts who feign pain and ruin it for others. There was a study many years ago that showed out of something like 800 subjects taking narcotics for chronic pain, only about 3 ended up addicted and those 3 had prior addiction problems. Wish I could find that study agin.

Anyway, again, this was just posted as a FIY/FWIW.

all the best,
  4. inprog

inprog Member