L Tryptophan and 5Htp

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by FaithHopeCure, Apr 1, 2012.

1. FaithHopeCure

FaithHopeCure New Member

Hi, I am new to this message board but not new to fibro. I have suffered for 10 years and have tried everyting! My fibro started when I had severe endometriosis and infertility treatments. I finally had my biological miracle child through a surrogate carrier and then had a complete hysterectomy. Thats when my fibro kicked in full gear and I was in a tremendous amount of pain! I went on bio-identical hormones which helped, but the migrianes and fibro coninued. I have tried nearly all physical therapies and nearly all prescription meds. They have helped a little but then they lose any effect after a few months. I am currently on Zoloft and weaning off of it. Once I have stopped the Zoloft, I would like to try the Prohealth Fibro Freedom that has 5HTP in it and the Fibro Sleep and the Prohealth Peaceful Sleep which has GABA in it (btw I have tried Lyrica and Neurontin which helped but too many side effects and too little relief). I do take all my vitamin B's and vitamin D which are key supplements for fibro.

I have tried Trytophan for sleep but it didn't work (maybe I didn't take enough). My question is do you need to take 5Htp and Tryptophan together? Because tryptophan is a precurser to 5Htp which converts to serotonin? Or can I take the 5Htp for better mood and sleep?

[This Message was Edited on 04/01/2012]
  2. mbofov

mbofov Active Member

You don't need to take 5-htp and tryptophan together. You can take 5-htp alone, I've been taking it for several years. It helped me a lot with sleep and mood. It's also much cheaper than tryptophan.

I think tryptophan might work as well but it's a lot pricier and I think you do have to take more tryptophan than 5-htp to get the same results.