Let Me Introduce Myself...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Mini4Me, Aug 30, 2006.

1. Mini4Me

Mini4Me New Member

Hello fellow sufferers,
    I'm a recently retired teacher with fibro, chronic myofascial pain, degenerative disc disease, and migraines. I'm glad to have found you. It is a lonley road to travel when you are overwhelmed with pain and fatigue. Sounds like all of you have come to grips with your various medical problems and are wonderfully supportive of one another.

I belong to a great online migraine support group as well, but I found the need to communicate with people also suffering with some of my other maladies.

I live in the Rocky Mountains of Idaho, have been a teacher for the past 17 years, was a ski instructor, ski hat knitter, waitress, cook at a ranch, and flight attendant (8 years).

I've been married to the same wonderful man for 31 years and have a beautiful 27 year old daughter. I've spent my lifetime being very athleticly active with mountain biking, skiing, and cross country skate skiing.

When I began menopause (age 46), all hell broke loose and I came down with migraines, degenerative disc disease, fibro, and chronic myofascial pain. I've spent countless thousands of dollars on medical bills trying to find out what is wrong with me and seeking pain relief.

I was finally forced to throw in the towel on my teaching job this year (I'm 56), and am trying to hang on to what little sanity I have left. Hubby has been a great support, but I'm stil struggling to find the "new" me, how to live when I can no longer do the things that gave so much life and pleasure. (My whole relationship with hubby was based on our shared physical activities).