Letting people down...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by gurlinottawa, Dec 27, 2006.

1. gurlinottawa

gurlinottawa New Member

Hi everyone,

I have been going through some learning the hard way lessons this past few months with regards to my inability to follow through on work or commitments do to unexpected pain and ill health.

I need your support for this emotional time. I commit to do things and then i cant because I am not well enough.

or I think I can perform the job or evening out, and then I cant. Peoples anger and disbelief and rejection of me is very hurtful and I know part of any disease management.

for example, I am a student and had a field placment, 6 wks, in my choosen field Early child hood education, daycare, very busy and less possiblefor me as I get older... when I graduate I will work in more of an administrative role since a full day of daycare is not very poosible...anyway, i had to modify the placment hours that i was to work because it was a stressful center and basically the director of the program thought i was just trying to take the easy way out and didnt believe my illness!! This was so hurtful and has cuased me great strain since she wouldnt agree to reduced hours in my placment... she also by the way works with children with disabitlities, and here she was with an adult, not dissimiliar to the children she works with and she just rejected my needs to be accomodated due to a disability.

also, I accepted a job doing labor type work back when I felt fine! and since this disease sneaks up on you, the flare ups, I wasnt able to complete the job like i thought and have had to leave the people at the last minute with no worker to cover their needs. I sent a letter and explained that my condition, and that I am sorry that I had to learn at their expense my inabilities to do certain jobs, I will nto take jobs like that again, which in itself is emotionally difficult to deal with, more limitations!!