logging body temp???

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by totiredforlife, Mar 4, 2007.

1. totiredforlife

totiredforlife New Member

I am new to this and actually going to a dr. in two weeks who specializes in these conditions. I have been tired for over a year and all I can do is lay on the couch. I ache all over esp. my legs. I get headaches where nothing takes it away and they last for a week at a time.
    My question is...my family dr. told me to keep a log between now and the appt. to record my body temperature...why? He also did lots of blood work.

thanks for any info. on this!!! :)
  2. StephieBee

StephieBee New Member

The only thing I could come up with is that my doc uses basil testing. If he believes you may have an underactive thyroid but it does not show up on blood work then he does it this way.

It is usually doen for 10 days with a basil thermometer first thing in the morning. If your temp is below a certain temp the majority of the 10 days he prescribles you thyroid medication.

Not sure if this is what your doc is doing but thought id throw it out there.

Steph
  3. KMD90603

KMD90603 New Member

I think it's great that your doctor asked you to do this. Do you run low grade fevers often, or do you ever notice if your body temperature runs real low. A subnormal temperature can indiciate hypothyroid, which is something that is very treatable. If you have a pattern of running low-grade fevers, it could indicate hyperthyroid, autoimmune disease, or ME/CFS. It's a good tool to show the doctor so they can see if anything might be going on.

Hugs,
    Kim
  4. totiredforlife