LONELY

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by bwitched, Mar 24, 2006.

1. bwitched

bwitched New Member

Hi there....I'm new to this message board. I just joined about 2 hours ago. I've read many of the messages and replies and feel like I've found people who understand me...Finally!

I'm just so very lonely. I used to be so active and involved in so many things. I felt so sure of myself and so accomplished. Now I'm reduced to being homebound and weak. I had many friends, both at work and social friends, to do things with and talk to. Since I've gotten so ill and haven't been able to attend the parties or go anywhere, none of them call me anymore. I've called a few of them, but they don't return my calls. Maybe they don't know what to say or are uncomfortable. I know everyone has their own lives and families. I understand, but it still hurts.

I've discussed my loneliness with my husband. He usually gets very defensive and says that he is home more than most husbands. He is home alot, but even when he's home he's not "really here" alot of the time. He's outside doing yard work or something else, and when we're together at night he is tired from working and can be very distant sometimes. He thinks that I want him here physically all the time, but that's not what I want. I just want to connect with others again, and I want more than anything for him to be the one that I connect with most of all. He takes it that I'm complaining about him and blaming him for all of my sadness. He says that I take everything out on him because I have no one else to take it out on. So, he suggested that I find a support group and find "someone else" (his words) to talk to.