Looking for Work at Home Jobs

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by SallyD, Mar 19, 2003.

1. SallyD

SallyD New Member

Does anyone know of any legitimate work at home opportunities? Most I've looked into seeem to charge a fee to start and either never pay you for your efforts or stop providing opportunities to work after a couple of months.

Like many of the rest of you, I was "laid off" 16 months ago. I've been unable to find a new job. Because of FM, most entry level jobs won't work. I can't walk or stand for long periods, or lift much.

I was a successful manager for several years. After my minor back injury 3-1/2 years ago and the FM that miraculously appeared afterwards, I gained over 60 pounds.
    I went back to work 6 months after the injury and worked for over a year. Despite the pain I only missed about 8 days of work that year. But it never seemed to matter how hard I worked. Employees who were on workers comp for more than a few days were considered to be taking advantage. Then they laid me off without warning.

Now I'm over-qualified for most jobs. The employers who will grant me an interview see a fat, 53 year-old lady with a noticeable limp. I have spent my life savings looking for treatments and trying to get through this all.

Now I really need help finding a way to support myself until I can retire at 65. I've been blessed with a fairly high IQ and I still haven't found any answer.

Can you offer any suggestions?

Sally

2. TerriM

TerriM New Member