loss of smell

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by lauramstrom, Jul 4, 2010.

1. lauramstrom

lauramstrom New Member

I am a retired Radiation Therapist. 2 years ago I had pneumonia twice about 6 months apart. I was on antibiotics for almost 6 weeks injections and orally. I noticed that I lost my sense of smell and to this date have not regained. It drives me nuts! I use to love to be able to smell soap , the ocean, fresh mowed lawn, food cooking etc. I went to an ENT and he could not find anything wrong and even did an MRI and nothing showed up. He told me I would probably never regain my smell. I can live with it , but you do not realize until it's gone how much you depend on your nose. The other day I had a fire in my oven and could not smell the smoke , just got lucky that I was in kitchen and saw it. I have allergies and have not been to an allergist because other than itching and swollen eyelids the bottom not the top ,that is all the symptoms I have. I have no mucous or green drainage. Can anyone suggest something? Once in a while I can get a small scent of lemon if I am cutting a lemon. Sometimes I get a metallic smell and it will last a couple of days. I am at wits end.
  2. SnooZQ

SnooZQ New Member

Sorry to hear about your problem. I think I would install an extra smoke detector in my kitchen.

Any chance you are deficient in zinc? Some antibiotics bind to minerals in the body ... if one becomes zinc deficient, loss of sense of smell is very common.

Conversely, use of nasal gels or swabs with zinc (like Zicam) is also associated with loss of sense of smell.

Any chance you were treated with zinc bacitracin (wash/aerosol/ointment) for your sinusitis? That could account for the occasional metallic smell as well as the loss of smell.

It's probably a good idea to keep trying to use your sniffer with strong pleasant scents like lemon. The brain will forget if not stimulated ... and you probably need stronger stim than most.

Best wishes.